John Carter Memorial Award

The John Carter Memorial Award is given each year but, to be honest, feels like it is not too fair this year.

That is because the John Carter Memorial Award goes to the film which is considered the year’s biggest flop.

Past “winners” of this award include:

Previous winners:  John Carter, Alice Through the Looking Glass, The Lone Ranger, A Million Ways to Die in the West, Expendables 3, Jem and the Holograms, Pan, Rock the Casbah, King Arthur: Legend of the Sword, Robin Hood (2018), Mortal Engines, Playmobil: The Movie

A flop does not need to be a bad movie. It is just one that did not perform well at the box office for whatever reason. And this is the reason why this year may not be a fair year to present this award. The box office was nonexistent for much of the year because of the Covid-19 outbreak. Pandemics do cause issues with movie theaters.

However, I did look at early in the year (with one exception) for the films under consideration. So… here is the John Carter Memorial Award recipient.

The Rhythm Section

ART OF THE CUT with Joan Sobel, ACE, on editing "The Rhythm Section" by  Steve Hullfish - ProVideo Coalition

Blake Lively’s character becomes an assassin who is after the people who were responsible for her family’s death. It lost a bunch of money early in the year. While it may not have been the final award winner in a regular year, this year’s reduced box office makes this one look worse.

Runners-Up: Dolittle, Tenet, Call of the Wild. (Tenet is the only one not from the pre-pandemic world mainly because it did not save the box office as Christopher Nolan seemed to believe).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s